Winter gown inspiration

I am sure that most of you agree that winter formal events are the toughest to find what to wear! Sewing makes this a little easier as it is enough to find the style, then you can sew it but still you also have to pair it with a coat. This is the point where  I am standing at the moment. I have an engagement reception (such thing is very common in Greece, to throw a reception when you get engaged) to attend and it is a nice opportunity/good excuse to make a formal winter gown. Yes you will see some gown sewing on the blog!!! My grandma had bought some years ago a really nice and expensive gold embroidered tulle and I thing I can really make something nice, matching it with an ivory charmeuse I bought last week. The fabric combination looks like the picture below which pictures a Notte By Marchesa Gown.

notte-by-marchesa-gold-embroidered-tulle-gown-product-1-20893571-4-020195584-normalSo far so good. Now lets share the bad news. I only have 1,3 m (1.2 yards) of the tulle, so a traditional design for a long dress like this one is out of question due to lack of fabric. I have found though some very nice styles from Zuhair Murad with the white one being my favorite, without the see-through detail of course, maybe something like the orange dress. I will try to find a back view of the blue dress as I really like it too. A combination of these three dresses would be ideal for me, I’ll see how it works.

00440h_1280x1920

Zuhair_Murad_015_1366.1280x1920 Zuhair_Murad_018_2000_1280x1920

I want my final gown to be long and long-sleeved because I want it for winter, with a simple silhouette but with amazing details. I really want to use as much of the tulle as I can because otherwise it is going to be wasted. I really don’t know if I will cut the satin on grain or on bias, I will do some research. I am also a little concerned about how to stitch this tulle…

If you have any idea about a pattern that would be appropriate, any good links about how to sew with satin or anything, please let me know!

Instagram Twitter Facebook PinterestBloglovin

One thought on “Winter gown inspiration

Leave a Reply

