“cloudy sky” unlined coat

blue unlined coat1

Hi, here is my latest make, the “cloudy sky” unlined coat which got its name from the color of the fabric.This is my second unlined coat of the season and I really love it as much as the first one. as they are both perfect for the first chills. Once again I used a Burdastyle pattern (it is model 122 form 9/2009 but unfortunately it is not available in their pattern store) and once again I am glad to share the pattern I drafted for the pockets which you can use in any project.

00a1e525-330e-4271-072c-5e2b1a3c1d34Die-neue-Boheme-Mode-2_400x400-ID150485-07fd43634f2ca6c4edeceed82517d9e9

I used a very interesting wool fabric both because of the very vivid blue-gray color and amazing texture. One side is striped and the other one looks a lot like this. Since both sides would be visible as the collar, hems and pocket boarders are details created by the fabric folding on the wrong side, I chose to keep the striped side for these details and use the wrong side of the fabric for the main body. I didn’t make the belt as usually belted jackets (let alone unlined) remind me of bathrobes and I went for a more loose silhouette.

blue unlined coat2

The fabric pieces are stitched and surged. For the edges I used a 1 cm rolled hem on the right side of the coat. I also took threads from my fabric and crocheted the metal snaps I used.

DSCN1248_FotorThe original pattern had 3/4 sleeves but I lengthened them and folded them on the bottom for some extra striped details.

DSCN1234 DSCN1235

Another thing that I wanted and was not on the original pattern is pockets so I drafted them and you can also download the pattern.

Untitled

Instagram Twitter Facebook PinterestBloglovin

9 thoughts on ““cloudy sky” unlined coat

Leave a Reply

